Honda Insight
Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2010–2014, 2019–2022
TransmissionThe 2022 Honda Insight uses a CVT in every configuration EPA tested.
Auto start-stopYes. Every 2022 Honda Insight configuration EPA tested has auto start-stop.
Premium fuelEPA tested the 2022 Honda Insight on regular gasoline, not premium; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2022 Honda Insight configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).
2022 at a glance
2 configurations tested by EPA
EPA lists no manual transmission for any Honda Insight from 2010–2022.
Honda Insight features by model year
Configurations by year
2022 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Insight Touring | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2021 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Insight Touring | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2020 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Insight Touring | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2019 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Insight Touring | 1.5L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2014 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7 | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2013 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7 | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2012 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7 | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
2011 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7 | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
2010 Honda Insight
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7 | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Insight | 1.3L 4-cyl hybrid | CVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratios | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.
About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.
Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.
More Honda lists
- Honda models with a CVT
- Honda models without a CVT
- Honda models with a manual transmission
- Honda models with a conventional automatic transmission
- Honda models with auto start-stop
- Honda models without auto start-stop
