Which Car Has

Honda CR-Z

Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2011–2016

TransmissionThe 2016 Honda CR-Z is offered with a CVT or a 6-speed manual, depending on configuration.

Auto start-stopYes. Every 2016 Honda CR-Z configuration EPA tested has auto start-stop.

Premium fuelEPA tested the 2016 Honda CR-Z on regular gasoline, not premium; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2016 Honda CR-Z configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).

2016 at a glance

2 configurations tested by EPA

CVTSome
1 of 2
1 hybrid eCVT
ManualSome
1 of 2
6-speed
Auto start-stopAll
2 of 2
Premium fuelNone
0 of 2
EPA test fuel
Flex-fuel (E85)None
0 of 2
No FFV versions

EPA lists a manual transmission for the Honda CR-Z in these model years: 2011–2016 (6 years of data from 2011–2016).

Honda CR-Z features by model year

Configurations by year

2016 Honda CR-Z

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7Front-WheelYesRegularNo
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybrid6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2015 Honda CR-Z

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7Front-WheelYesRegularNo
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybrid6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2014 Honda CR-Z

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7Front-WheelYesRegularNo
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybrid6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2013 Honda CR-Z

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7Front-WheelYesRegularNo
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybrid6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2012 Honda CR-Z

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7Front-WheelNot reportedRegularNo
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybrid6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNot reportedRegularNo

2011 Honda CR-Z

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)AV-S7Front-WheelNot reportedRegularNo
CR-Z1.5L 4-cyl hybrid6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNot reportedRegularNo

Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.

About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.

Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.

More Honda lists

Other Honda models