Subaru Legacy/Outback
Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2010–2017
TransmissionThe 2017 Subaru Legacy/Outback uses a CVT in every configuration EPA tested.
Auto start-stopNo. EPA lists no auto start-stop on any 2017 Subaru Legacy/Outback configuration it tested.
Premium fuelEPA tested the 2017 Subaru Legacy/Outback on regular gasoline, not premium; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2017 Subaru Legacy/Outback configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).
2017 at a glance
4 configurations tested by EPA
EPA lists a manual transmission for the Subaru Legacy/Outback in these model years: 2010–2014 (5 years of data from 2010–2017).
Subaru Legacy/Outback features by model year
Configurations by year
2017 Subaru Legacy/Outback
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2016 Subaru Legacy/Outback
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2015 Subaru Legacy/Outback
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2014 Subaru Legacy/Outback
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2013 Subaru Legacy/Outback
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Outback AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
2012 Subaru Legacy/Outback
7 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
2011 Subaru Legacy/Outback
7 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
2010 Subaru Legacy/Outback
7 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Legacy AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Legacy AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Outback Wagon AWD | 3.6L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.
About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.
Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.
More Subaru lists
- Subaru models with a CVT
- Subaru models without a CVT
- Subaru models with a manual transmission
- Subaru models with a conventional automatic transmission
- Subaru models with auto start-stop
- Subaru models without auto start-stop
- Subaru models EPA tested on premium fuel
