Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2010–2017
TransmissionThe 2017 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport is offered with a CVT or a 5-speed manual, depending on configuration.
Auto start-stopNo. EPA lists no auto start-stop on any 2017 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport configuration it tested.
Premium fuelEPA tested the 2017 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport on regular gasoline, not premium; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2017 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).
2017 at a glance
8 configurations tested by EPA
EPA lists a manual transmission for the Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport in these model years: 2010–2017 (8 years of data from 2010–2017).
Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport features by model year
Configurations by year
2017 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
8 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza 4-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S7 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza 4-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza 5-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S7 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza 5-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport 4-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S7 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport 4-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport 5-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S7 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport 5-Door | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2016 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2015 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Sport AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTAV-S6 | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
2014 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
8 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
2013 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
8 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Yes | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Yes | Premium | No |
2012 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
8 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | CVTvariable gear ratios | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.0L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
2011 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
8 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 4-speed automaticS4 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 4-speed automaticS4 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
2010 Subaru Impreza/Outback Sport
9 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 4-speed automaticS4 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 4-speed automaticS4 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza AWD | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 4-speed automaticS4 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport | 2.5L 4-cyl | 4-speed automaticS4 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport | 2.5L 4-cyl | 5-speed manual5-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Regular | No |
| Impreza Wagon/Outback Sport | 2.5L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.
About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.
Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.
More Subaru lists
- Subaru models with a CVT
- Subaru models without a CVT
- Subaru models with a manual transmission
- Subaru models with a conventional automatic transmission
- Subaru models with auto start-stop
- Subaru models without auto start-stop
- Subaru models EPA tested on premium fuel
