smart fortwo
Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2010–2019
TransmissionThe 2017 smart fortwo is offered with a 6-speed automated manual or a 5-speed manual, depending on configuration.
Auto start-stopNo. EPA lists no auto start-stop on any 2017 smart fortwo configuration it tested.
Premium fuelEPA tested the 2017 smart fortwo on premium fuel; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2017 smart fortwo configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).
2017 at a glance
6 configurations tested by EPA
EPA lists a manual transmission for the smart fortwo in these model years: 2016–2017 (2 years of data from 2010–2019).
smart fortwo features by model year
Configurations by year
2019 smart fortwo
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EQ fortwo (convertible) | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| EQ fortwo (coupe) | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2018 smart fortwo
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo electric drive convertible | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2017 smart fortwo
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 0.9L 3-cyl turbo | 6-speed automated manualAM6 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo cabriolet | 0.9L 3-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 0.9L 3-cyl turbo | 6-speed automated manualAM6 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 0.9L 3-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo electric drive convertible | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2016 smart fortwo
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo coupe | 0.9L 3-cyl turbo | 6-speed automated manualAM6 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 0.9L 3-cyl turbo | 5-speed manual5-spd | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo electric drive convertible | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2015 smart fortwo
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo electric drive convertible | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2014 smart fortwo
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo electric drive convertible | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2013 smart fortwo
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| fortwo electric drive convertible | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2012 smart fortwo
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
2011 smart fortwo
4 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| fortwo electric drive cabriolet | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
| fortwo electric drive coupe | Electric | Single-speed (electric drive)A1 | Rear-Wheel | n/a | Electricity | No |
2010 smart fortwo
2 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| fortwo cabriolet | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| fortwo coupe | 1.0L 3-cyl | 5-speed automated manualAM5 | Rear-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.
About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.
Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.
