Which Car Has

Scion tC

Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2010–2016

TransmissionThe 2016 Scion tC is offered with a 6-speed automatic or a 6-speed manual, depending on configuration.

Auto start-stopNo. EPA lists no auto start-stop on any 2016 Scion tC configuration it tested.

Premium fuelEPA tested the 2016 Scion tC on regular gasoline, not premium; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2016 Scion tC configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).

2016 at a glance

2 configurations tested by EPA

CVTNone
0 of 2
No CVT
ManualSome
1 of 2
6-speed
Auto start-stopNone
0 of 2
Premium fuelNone
0 of 2
EPA test fuel
Flex-fuel (E85)None
0 of 2
No FFV versions

EPA lists a manual transmission for the Scion tC in these model years: 2010–2016 (7 years of data from 2010–2016).

Scion tC features by model year

Configurations by year

2016 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed automaticS6Front-WheelNoRegularNo
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNoRegularNo

2015 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed automaticS6Front-WheelNoRegularNo
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNoRegularNo

2014 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed automaticS6Front-WheelNoRegularNo
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNoRegularNo

2013 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed automaticS6Front-WheelNoRegularNo
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNoRegularNo

2012 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed automaticS6Front-WheelNot reportedRegularNo
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNot reportedRegularNo

2011 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed automaticS6Front-WheelNot reportedRegularNo
tC2.5L 4-cyl6-speed manual6-spdFront-WheelNot reportedRegularNo

2010 Scion tC

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
tC2.4L 4-cyl4-speed automatic4-spdFront-WheelNot reportedRegularNo
tC2.4L 4-cyl5-speed manual5-spdFront-WheelNot reportedRegularNo

Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.

About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.

Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.

More Scion lists

Other Scion models