Which Car Has

BMW i3

Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2014–2021

TransmissionThe 2021 BMW i3 is offered with , depending on configuration.

Auto start-stopYes. Every 2021 BMW i3 configuration EPA tested has auto start-stop.

Premium fuelEPA tested the 2021 BMW i3 on premium fuel; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2021 BMW i3 configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).

2021 at a glance

4 configurations tested by EPA

CVTNot applicable
–
Electric drive
ManualNot applicable
–
Electric drive
Auto start-stopAll
2 of 2
Premium fuelAll
2 of 2
EPA test fuel
Flex-fuel (E85)None
0 of 2
No FFV versions

EPA lists no manual transmission for any BMW i3 from 2014–2021.

BMW i3 features by model year

Which BMW i3 model years have each feature. Each cell links to that year's configurations.
’14’15’16’17’18’19’20’21
CVT2014 CVT: Not reported2015 CVT: Not reported2016 CVT: Not reported2017 CVT: Not reported2018 CVT: Not reported2019 CVT: Not reported2020 CVT: Not reported2021 CVT: Not reported
Manual2014 Manual: Not reported2015 Manual: Not reported2016 Manual: Not reported2017 Manual: Not reported2018 Manual: Not reported2019 Manual: Not reported2020 Manual: Not reported2021 Manual: Not reported
Automated manual2014 Automated manual: Not reported2015 Automated manual: Not reported2016 Automated manual: Not reported2017 Automated manual: Not reported2018 Automated manual: Not reported2019 Automated manual: Not reported2020 Automated manual: Not reported2021 Automated manual: Not reported
Automatic2014 Automatic: Not reported2015 Automatic: Not reported2016 Automatic: Not reported2017 Automatic: Not reported2018 Automatic: Not reported2019 Automatic: Not reported2020 Automatic: Not reported2021 Automatic: Not reported
Start-stop2014 Start-stop: All2015 Start-stop: All2016 Start-stop: All2017 Start-stop: All2018 Start-stop: All2019 Start-stop: All2020 Start-stop: All2021 Start-stop: All
Premium fuel2014 Premium fuel: All2015 Premium fuel: All2016 Premium fuel: All2017 Premium fuel: All2018 Premium fuel: All2019 Premium fuel: All2020 Premium fuel: All2021 Premium fuel: All
Flex-fuel2014 Flex-fuel: None2015 Flex-fuel: None2016 Flex-fuel: None2017 Flex-fuel: None2018 Flex-fuel: None2019 Flex-fuel: None2020 Flex-fuel: None2021 Flex-fuel: None
All configurationsSome configurationsNoneNot reported by EPA

Configurations by year

2021 BMW i3

4 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo
i3sElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3s with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2020 BMW i3

4 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo
i3sElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3s with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2019 BMW i3

4 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo
i3sElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3s with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2018 BMW i3

4 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3 (94Ah)ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 (94Ah) with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo
i3s (94Ah)ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3s (94Ah) with Range Extender0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2017 BMW i3

3 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3 BEV (60 Amp-hour battery)ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 BEV (94 Amp-hour battery)ElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 REX (94 Amp-hour battery)0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2016 BMW i3

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3 BEVElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 REX0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2015 BMW i3

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3 BEVElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 REX0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

2014 BMW i3

2 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
i3 BEVElectricSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-Wheeln/aElectricityNo
i3 REX0.6L 2-cyl plug-in hybridSingle-speed (electric drive)A1Rear-WheelYesPremiumNo

Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.

About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.

Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.

More BMW lists

Other BMW models